上午8点
对于22名厨房员工来说,一天的工作刚刚开始。员工们把一堆堆蔬菜切块、切片、切丁、切丝,切成所需的形状。
上午9点
Michel Jr在他的办公室打电话。他核对当天菜单,同时要确保餐厅供应准确无误。他的每周购物清单包括1280颗鸡蛋、60千克黄油、200千克5个品种的土豆、80只龙虾、500个扇贝,还有总额4000英镑的蔬菜水果订单以及30条特制面包。
上午10点
楼上洗刷餐厅外阶梯。用吸尘器对大堂和酒廊进行打扫除尘。楼下在厨房,杂工开始利落地擦洗瓷砖地板。另外四个杂工开始擦拭上百套餐具。
上午11点
Emmanuel巡视装潢豪华、以绿色和深紫红色为主的用餐区,来回检查一切情况是否正常。服务生摆桌完成后,他会逐桌进行检查。上浆后的亚麻餐巾要以正确的角度摆放。每个玻璃杯间隔距离要完全一致。大约11点半左右是Michel Jr、Emmanuel及其他高级员工的午餐时间。
中午12点
午餐时段即将开始。再次用吸尘器打扫用餐区。Michel Jr回到厨房,品尝并检查,反复检查。他检查各部分工作:肉类、鱼类、面点类。一切准备就绪。Michel Jr来到过道,准备午餐营业。午餐时段开始。
下午1点
从厨房通往餐区的门每30秒钟打开一次。用餐区已座无虚席。侍酒师帮助顾客从窖藏的65000瓶酒中进行选择。厨房里,点单被贴在走道的一头,每新来一张点单Michel Jr便会大声宣读。他的脑海里只有完美的食物。当一盘一盘菜肴被送向餐桌的时候,Michel也会告诉他的团队。仅仅一分钟的时间,Michel Jr要检查不同菜肴的装饰和酱汁。两分钟之内,服务生要把菜肴送到顾客的餐桌上。
下午2点
几乎全部主菜都已出餐完毕。有些早到的客人已经离开,但当Michel去跟食客打招呼的时候,餐厅还是几乎全满。“我并不擅长交际”,他回到厨房时这么说。“但露一下脸,和顾客保持接触,是不错的。”厨师们在主要厨房里面忙着刷洗清理工作台和炉台,糕点师父把点心送至出菜台
下午3点
现在餐厅已是空荡荡了。最后的顾客饱餐之后也心满意足地走出餐厅,踏上Upper Brook Street。接待员关门之后,清理工作开始了。在确保今晚晚餐和明天营业所需一切准备妥当之后,Michel Jr会溜出去到Battersea公园跑步。
下午4点
嘘,忙了一天,Le Gavroche终于安静下来了
下午5点
Michel Jr跑完步回来。厨房里挤满了人,一番忙碌的景象。服务生准备换上制服,迎接晚餐时段。他们都已经吃过晚饭了。Emmanuel向员工做晚餐时段的工作说明。
晚上6点
再次洗刷厨房地板。几个托盘的小龙虾和扇贝已经备好,等待最后的烹煮。鹅肝片也已经备用待烤。肉类厨师已经将羊腿炖熟去骨。一切准备就绪。Michel穿上白色新外套。
晚上7点
100名顾客陆续抵达,边喝着陈年香槟边吃着美味小吃。银托盘盛满食物被端出厨房,回来时已是空空如也。很快,Michel站到通道的老位子上。他的水杯、装饰品和酱料已经准备就绪。
晚上8点
餐厅中顾客的谈话声不绝于耳。Emmanuel指挥着他的员工:按我说的做。我让你去你就去。没有人敢违背他的指令。他朝Michel点点头,“开始”的指令就传递到了厨房。令人垂涎欲滴的菜肴有条不紊地端上桌。每一道菜都被吃得干干净净,拿回厨房已是空盘一个。每一位厨房员工都在竭尽全力努力工作。
晚上9点
Michel Jr坐了一个小时后终于站了起来,他在厨房四处走动,与员工们聊天。每个人都愉悦而放松。至少这一夜的压力已不复存在。但是工作还要继续。奶酪上桌之后各道菜被吃得盘子底朝天。对于所有的厨师来说,包括米其林二星厨师,刮得干干净净的餐盘可以说是最好的赞美。他走进餐厅,顾客便开始鼓掌。雷鸣般的掌声一直传到后厨房。他已经工作超过13个小时了,只休息过一小会儿,因此已是精疲力竭了。
晚上10点
甜点摆盘完毕准备上桌。服务生准备泡制咖啡和茶,然后端上法式小甜饼。最后检查完毕后,Michel Jr当晚的工作便告一段落。100名顾客享受了可能是他们一生中最棒的餐饮体验。对于Le Gavroche和所有的员工来说,又一天就这样结束了。

8.00am
For the twenty two kitchen staff, the day's work has just begun. People are chopping, dicing and slicing piles of vegetables into perfect cubes, batons and circles.
9.00am
Michel Jr is on the telephone in his office. He checks the day's menus, while keeping an accurate tally of the restaurant supplies. His weekly grocery order includes 1,280 eggs, 60 kilos of butter, 200 kilos of potatoes in 5 varieties, 80 lobsters & 500 scallops, not to mention a £4,000 order for fruit & vegetables and 30 loaves of specialty bread.
10.00am
Upstairs the outside steps are scrubbed & swept. Lobby & lounge have been vacuumed & dusted. Down in the kitchen, porters briskly scrub the tiled floor. Four more porters begin polishing hundreds of pieces of cutlery.
11.00am
Emmanuel circles the plush green & claret dining room, checking and checking again. He walks from table to table, as the waiters finish laying them. Each starched linen napkin is placed at just the right angle. Each glass is exactly the same distance from its neighbour. Around 11.30 Michel Jr, Emmanuel & the senior staff have lunch.
12.00pm
Lunch service is about to begin. The dining room has just been vacuumed again. Michel Jr is back in the kitchen, tasting & checking, always checking. He checks every section, meat, fish, and pastry. All is ready. Michel Jr is back at the pass, ready for lunch. Service begins.
1.00pm
The doors from the kitchen into the restaurant swing open every 30 seconds. The dining room is full. The Sommelier helps diners choose wine from 65,000 bottles in the cellar. In the kitchen, orders are pegged onto one side of the pass & Michel Jr calls them the minute they come in. He has only one thing on his mind - a perfect plate of food. As plate after plate leaves the pass, Michel is still calling back to his team. In just over a minute, Michel Jr inspects garnishes & sauces for different dishes. In less than two minutes the waiters are placing them on the tables in the restaurant.
2.00pm
Nearly all the main courses have been served. Some early arrivals have slipped away, but the restaurant is almost full when Michel goes to meet his diners. 'I'm not a particularly gregarious person' he says back in the kitchen. 'But it is good to show my face and keep in touch with the customers'. While the chefs from the main kitchen are busy scrubbing & cleaning their preparation areas & stoves, the pastry chefs are bringing their dishes to the pass.
3.00pm
The restaurant is empty now. The last diner, happily replete, has just walked up the stairs and out into Upper Brook Street. As the receptionist closes the door behind him, the cleaners start again. Michel Jr slips away for a run in Battersea Park, but only after ensuring everything is ready in order for dinner tonight, and the next day's business.
4.00pm
Sshh, for the first & only time in the day, Le Gavroche is quiet.
5.00pm
Michel Jr is back from his run. The kitchen is full and busy. The waiters are about to change their uniforms for dinner. They've already eaten. Emmanuel briefs the staff on the evening ahead.
6.00pm
The kitchen floor is scrubbed again. Trays of langoustines & scallops are ready for their final poaching. Lobes of foie gras stand waiting to be grilled. The meat chefs have already braised and boned their legs of lamb. Everything is ready. Michel dons a fresh white jacket.
7.00pm
The first of the 100 guests start to arrive; with their vintage Taittinger champagne they are served delicious canapés. One by one the silver trays leave the kitchen full and return minutes later empty. Soon after, Michel takes his place at the pass. His glass of water, his garnishes and sauces are ready.
8.00pm
The hum of conversation in the restaurant is clearly audible now. Emmanuel marshals his staff: 'Do as I say. Go when I tell you' No one would dare disobey him. He nods at Michel and the order to start goes back to the kitchen. The courses roll out in orchestrated perfection. The plates return to the kitchen scraped clean. Everyone in the kitchen is working as hard as they can.
9.00pm
Michel Jr stands up straight for the first time in an hour, and walks around the kitchen, chatting to the staff. Everyone looks pleased and relieved. The pressure, for tonight at least is over. But not, the work. After the cheese course the plates come back scraped clean. For any cook, even one with two Michelin stars, a plate scraped clean is the best compliment of all. He goes into the restaurant and the applause from the diners rings through to the back of the kitchen. He is tired, apart from a small break; he has been working for more than 13 hrs!
10.00pm

The desserts are plated up and are ready to be served. The waiters stand by, to prepare coffees & tisanes, and serve the petit fours. After final inspection Michel Jr's work is over for the night. One hundred people have enjoyed what is probably the culinary experience of their lives. For Le Gavroche and its staff, it is the end of just another day.